On The Subject of FanFiction

by margaretvinshire

Subtitle:  Or Why every writer should write fan fiction!

So, how many of you reading this – I’m sure there’s not very many reading this at all, but it’s always good to have a tinge of optimism – have heard of Fanfiction?

Yes, no, yes?

So, in short Terms, if you’ve never heard of it – Fanfiction is basically the use of another author’s characters and/or world by another writer who wants to write another story for them.

Alright then, you may be asking, why are you even bringing this up?

Well….because I’m of the personal opinion that every new writer should be a ‘Fanfictioner’ (another case of me using a word that doesn’t exist).

Why? Well, Fanfiction  allows you to write fairly easily on a fairly consistent basis and submit things that  get feedback.

It’s quite possible that you don’t need all that practice because you’ve been practicing for forever.

Well, I did, of that you can be sure.

Fanfiction- if you feel obligation to readers – also gets you used to the idea that when there is a demand for what your writing, you can no longer ‘update’ as they call it on there, the story whenever, because people want it sooner rather than later.

…Well, really, in the grand scheme of things, Fanfiction allows you to practice but also get feedback on that practice. 😉

I’ve pretty moved on from my fan fiction writing – no, I’m not telling you my account, my writing was horrid – and have moved into the world of original writing! We’ll see how that goes, yes?

